top of page

March 3rd, 2014

Greetings again all of you Destitute Denizens! Welcome back to another blog! Thank you for reading!

So here I am watching the Oscars. Matthew McConaughey (Yes, I had to look up how to spell his name) just won Best Actor. Now, I haven’t seen Dallas Buyers Club, but that’s not the point. I liked his speech, especially the part about who his hero is. He said that when he was 25, someone asked him who is hero is. He said it was himself ten years from now. Then ten years later, the same guy asked him if he had become the hero. He said no, he hasn’t. His hero will always be himself ten years from now. I like that notion.

I look back to what I was doing ten years ago. 2004. Heck, I know I wanted to get into comics. I had already been working with Derek for a few years already. I don’t remember the exact project we were working on at that time, but it was definitely something. Of course, it wasn’t Poverty Pack, but it was definitely something that was going to somehow lead up to it!

I have always said, “Don’t regret anything because everything you’ve done makes you who you are now.” So even with all the failures of trying to get into comics, be it sending in submissions or working with others in self-publishing, everything I’ve done has led me to what we’re doing now. And I’m pretty proud of it. I like what we’re doing. Even if all we end up doing is self-publishing online as we’re doing now, going to conventions, and having a small fanbase, I’m more than happy with that.

Also, I know that I have improved as a writer in the past ten years. I look back at some of the scripts and ideas that I had and I’ve got to say, some of them were pretty bad. Not that I’m saying I’m awesome now. I know there’s always room for improvement. And I’m always open to learning. If you’re not learning, you’re not living.

So to get back to what I was saying before. I know want to aspire to what I’m going to be ten years from now. In ten years, I should have improved so much more. I should be better than I am now. That’s who I want to be. So let’s bring on the future!

I certainly hope that these words can inspire someone else as much as it does myself. But if not, that’s OK too. Just know that the future of my writing for Poverty Pack and Poverty Thrill Adventures is going to be awesome!

Thanks for letting me speak! See you all next time! Be good to each other and yourself!

Ted


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page