top of page

Thanks....AGAIN!


Do you have the Thanksgiving tradition of going around the table and telling everyone what you’re thankful for? I’ve had to do that before. To be honest, I hate doing that. Everyone looks at you as you try to say what you’re thankful for. What if your cousin Freddy says something profound and all you say is that I’m glad I got a five cent raise? I’m thankful for all this food that sits before us so let’s all shut up and eat already!

Welcome to another Fabulous Frog Blog! So since I’m sort of the center of attention here and no one can upstage me as I write this (except for Derek who did a Thanksgiving blog already!). I’m going to tell you what I’m thankful for when it comes to Afro Stache Studios!

This year, we’ve been through some pretty big ups and downs. I’m really thankful that we’re through it and we’re back at it going full speed ahead! As a matter of fact, we’re producing comics faster than we have ever done in the past. It’s pretty amazing at all the books we have lined up ready, or almost ready, to go! We’ve also got a ton of other stories in the works as well. I know we have years of books that are planned. To me, this is so amazing!

This year also marked a new milestone for Afro Stache Studios. We made it to San Diego Comic Con! This is the comic book convention that shows you’ve got the goods! In 2014, I went as a fanboy. It had been the first time I had been to SDCC in about five years. It was really quite amazing to be there. I had so much fun. But I had to enquire what it takes to get into SDCC as an exhibitor. There was a certain time that applications were going to be accepted, but the people who already exhibit naturally have preferential treatment before any newcomers. Well, regardless, I made sure I was first in line to drop off my application. Then I found out there was a panel of people who had to look over your product and determine if you were producing quality books for you to be considered. Wow! More hoops to jump through. Finally, we got word that we were accepted and got our table assignment! And we had a great time there! It certainly is different being on the other side of the table at SDCC!

Now, I’m not trying to snub the other conventions we’ve been to in the past year. Amazing Las Vegas Comic Con is getting bigger and bigger each year and we have a blast going. Not just because it’s Las Vegas, but because the comic book scene is growing by leaps and bounds out there! And it really is a blast being able to see fans we met in previous years and also getting to meet people who have never seen our comic before.

Of course, I’m thankful for all of the small press publishers we’ve met over the years. I can truly say that there is so much incredible talent out there and they’re all producing outstanding work. Scott Lost Comics, Black Jack Comics, Salt City Strangers, Man vs. Rock. These are just a few of the awesome people we’ve met over the years.

Now, Afro Stache Studios wouldn’t be much without the talent we’ve got going for us. I really am lucky to get to work with someone who is not only my friend, but he’s an extremely talented artist and creator! I have known Derek since 1997! And what a ride it’s been! And our studio has been growing too! We’ve got Andrew Carr, who we met many years ago and is now back with us! Reggie Augustine, Derek’s cousin, is furiously working on a new vision of a branch of the Poverty Pack. Derek’s brother, Dave has also been kind enough to donate his art renderings in some of our books too. Brian Coles, a friend of Derek, has also contributed his writing styles to our annual, to be out soon! It really is exciting to see what other artists do with characters Derek and I have created. I mean, we have a vision, but when put into someone else’s hands, it’s great to see their vision too!

Of course, I’m thankful for all of these things that I’ve mentioned. But what I’m most grateful for is that we have the best bunch of fans out there! Without you guys, we don’t know what we would do. When we hear how much you’ve enjoyed our books, well, that just does it for us. I mean, that is why we do this. We want to tell great stories using great art. We want to entertain you! So thank you so very much!

So thank you to all of you who have read our book or supported us in one way or another. I am truly thankful for all that you have done! So until next time, eat turkey and all the sides, leave room for pie, and have a great holiday no matter who you’re with!

From all of us at Afro Stache Studios, Happy Thanksgiving!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page