top of page

Shout Outs!

Greetings all you Afro Stachers out there! Welcome to another Fabulous Frog Blog! I apologize for the tardiness of this post. I blame Derek. He was in Vegas on vacation or something, that lucky bastard!

Afro Stache Studios has been around for a few years now, and as you know, we’ve met a whole lot of fans at conventions. And I’ve got to give a big “THANK YOU!!” out to all of those people who took a chance on us and bought our books. Some of you, we got to meet again and again and you’ve always supported us. Without you guys, we wouldn’t be here.

Now, not only have we met fans, but naturally, we’ve met other small press and independent publishers. So I guess this blog is a shout out to them. And hopefully will get you guys interested in checking them out as well.

A few years ago, we were at our first Long Beach Comic Con. We only had one convention under our belts by then. So we were still pretty new to the scene. Not saying that we’re experts now, but I digress. We got to meet Scott Lost of Scott Lost Comics. He and his buddy are doing their comic called The 2nd Shift. Now I’ve got to tell you, when we first met Scott and his buddy, Eburonson, they were pretty big muscled guys. Well, they still are. Apparently they were in the world of pro-wrestling prior to doing comics. As we got to know them, it turns out that they are pretty cool guys. And they’ve got a real story-driven comic with some really good art. I know they are going to do very well! Good luck guys!

Check them out at http://www.scottlostcomics.com.

At our second outing to Long Beach Comic Con, we were right next to a couple of really cool guys, Victor Detroy and Kevin Bieber. They do the now famous Man vs Rock comic. Now we see them everywhere we go! And why not? They do some incredibly funny stuff! I thought we did humor, but these guys took their concept and said, “we’re going to make you laugh so hard, you’re going to piss yourself!” I think I may have! But seriously, these guys do incredibly funny work. The story is solid. They sell out all the time, which makes me jealous!

Go check these guys out at http://www.manvsrock.com. Join the fight!

Another person I had the pleasure of meeting was Joy DeCapua of Black Jack Comics. Now, Black Jack Comics is a studio that is owned and operated by military veterans. Do I really have to say anymore? These guys are pretty awesome! I met Joy at the second Amazing Las Vegas Comic Con. Black Jack Comics had a whole slew of comic titles, including Phantom Hawk and Pendragon. But it looks like right now Black Jack Comics is going through some restructuring within the company. So I will keep you updated on what is to come! Should be awesome though!

At the last Amazing Las Vegas Comic Con, I got to meet Chris Hoffman. He writes a comic called Salt City Strangers. Chris is a very cool guy. We both exchanged comics and read them over. I’ve got to say, he gets us! Salt City Strangers and Poverty Pack are cut from the same humor cloth. It’s not that we copied each other, but it’s more like a “great minds think alike” sort of thing. I am really looking forward to seeing where his comic is going. Check it out at saltcitystrangers.com. You’ll thank me!

Now, don’t get me wrong, we have met a whole lot more people at these conventions. But these are the people who stick out the most and have been “side by side” with at conventions trying to sell books with. I have been to conventions as a fanboy and got to just walk around and talk to other small press/indy publishers, buy their books, and like what they have. And believe me, there are so many good small press books out there! If you are able to go to a convention, check them out. Big companies like Marvel and DC have some good things comics, but there’s something to be said about small press. We put our hearts and souls into these comics. They mean something to us. And it’s something we want to share with all of you. And if you’re reading this, then you’ve made that investment in checking us out. And that’s freakin’ awesome!

Anyway, that’s about it for me today. Until next time, be good to each other!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

© 2017 Afro Stache Studios. All rights reserved.

bottom of page